My Do-It-Yourself, Minimalist Diwali 2016

When it comes to celebrating festivals, we are the laziest people I know. But there is something about Diwali. There is so much festivity around that the excitement rubs off on you.

Diwali is ostentatious. Nothingdsc_3598_1 is done in small measure. Everyone indulges in shopping, without any guilt. So, new clothes are purchased, some jewelry on Dhanteras, sometimes also the curtains, furniture and home accessories.
To make matters worse, everywhere you look there are offers to lure you. It feels sacrilegious not to buy stuff – wanted or unwanted.dsc_3625_1

Well, not me! Not this time!

And yet we had the most amazing Diwali.

  • The house was cleaned from end to end, from top to bottom. Diwali cleaning has been a ritual since childhood. It also doubles up as a de-cluttering exercise for me. Like always, I gave away a lot of stuff.
    We did not buy any new clothes. I only buy clothes now as per need and specifically what I need. I was extremely happy to wear a saree from my wedding trousseau. In any case, my sarees have hardly been worn because the lazy bone that I am, I prefer easy to wear casual clothes most of the time.
  • Anotdsc_3654_1her major change this year was to make all Diwali delicacies at home. All these years, we had been buying everything. I was convinced that when you can buy everything off-the-counter, then why slog! But with a young child at home and my own pursuit of a healthier lifestyle now, I prefer ‘making’ things over ‘buying’. The commercially produced sweets and namkeens in huge quantities which we buy from shops aren’t healthy or very hygienic. We also keep reading about adulterations. Besides, there is a lot of nostalgia associated with festive food getting prepared at home. So, this time we decided we will make everything at home. Thanks to YouTube we did not have much difficulty.
  • The lanterns wedsc_3585_1re also made at home. Of late, the better half keeps coming up with ideas to make things around the house. From wooden boxes and table to sweets like kaju katli and boondi laddoo, from paper lanterns to the wall size World Map, he just makes everything. This is actually a side-effect of not watching TV.
  • For Dhanteras, we ditched the usual gold / silver coins. For a few years, I dsc_0012_1was actually doing it reluctantly. May be there was a purpose of accumulating wealth like this earlier but in my current state of mind I prefer buying what I need right now. I have majorly moved to Metal and Glass for my kitchenware but I couldn’t find anything nice in steel for my son’s lunchbox. I had surfed online sites but they usually showed steel lunchboxes with outer coating in plastic. I was pleasantly surprised to find something perfect at the local utensils shop.
  • For the last 2 years I had been delegating making Rangoli to my cook due to lack of time. This time we had quite a lot of time on hand. Though out of practice, I enjoyed making my Rangoli this time.dsc_3620_1dsc_3623_1
  • We used to do sky lanterns till last year. From this year it has been banned due to safety issues. Though they are the lesser devils, yet the sky lanterns are not exactly environment friendly. And about crackers, the less said the better. We don’t even step out of the house on Diwali to avoid all the smoke and noise. When I went for my run on the day after Diwali, I had to manoeuvre my way through the clutter of the previous night’s cracker-bursting session.

Nevertheless, it was certainly a more meaningful Diwali for us. How was yours?

Leave a Reply

