8 Questions to Ask yourself before buying New Clothes

shopping-606993_960_720

Image credit

You have a wardrobe full of clothes and yet you often feel that you don’t have anything to wear.

You have several pieces which do not have repeat value and are too expensive to give away.

You have several pieces which have been worn once or twice and sometimes never.

You have several pieces which looked good in store but not on you.

You have several pieces which don’t go with anything else in your wardrobe.

You spend too much time managing your huge collection of clothes, most of which you don’t even wear often.

And if you are okay with all these, this post is NOT for you.

But if it bothers you that there is something fundamentally wrong in how you are buying clothes, you need to ask yourself a few questions.

Do you know that 80 / 20 rule is actually true? Most of us wear only 20% of our clothes for 80% of the time. Then, why hoard so much?

I haven’t shopped for clothes for more than a year now. I have lost weight, been on vacations, attended weddings; and celebrated birthdays, anniversaries and festivals, without buying new clothes. Aren’t those always the excuses to shop?

The last time I bought clothes I spent several hours looking through a number of stores with a specific list in my hand and a few questions on my mind. It made me focus on what I really needed. It is important to ask these questions for mindful shopping and buying only those clothes which will add value to your wardrobe.

  1. Do I absolutely love this? Am I so much in love with this that I can’t wait to wear it?
  2. Am I buying this because the price is attractive? Never buy a piece only because it is cheap. You must absolutely love it. In fact, it is worth investing in a good piece which you can wear for years, rather than buying something on a huge discount which will just take your wardrobe space.
  3. Will this go with other pieces in my wardrobe? I still have a trouser and a skirt which I otherwise love, but I could never find anything that would go perfectly with those.
  4. Is the cloth durable? Or will it start losing color with every wash? It is disheartening to see something you love wither away within a couple of washes.
  5. Does it fit you perfectly? Many times we buy something because it is looking good even if it isn’t in our size. We always plan that we will lose a bit of weight. Never happens.
  6. Do I have enough opportunities to wear this? Last year, my husband got me a formal party dress which I liked but I knew I would never find any opportunity to wear it. I never go to parties, forget about any formal ones.
  7. Is it in tune with my personal style? There’s nothing wrong in trying different kinds of clothes but admit it, you will always prefer certain styles over others. I always fancy buying skirts but I’m never very comfortable in those. I’m a jeans and shirt person. Period.
  8. And finally, give it time. Don’t buy it immediately, mull over it. If you still feel the same way, by all means, go back and buy it.

These questions help me stay focused and avert any unmindful purchase, which I may regret later.

Do you also have any such tips to share?

Leave a Reply

